Over the years, we’ve built up a talented team of experienced administrators and teachers who deliver our training and Professional Learning. These consultants also work on specialized challenges. Here, you can get a better feel for the skills they bring to the table.


THELMA BLAIR is a retired educator from Lincoln County. She served five years as their District Assessment Coordinator and Instructional Supervisor. Prior to this, Thelma was principal of McKinney Elementary in Lincoln County for 15 years and had served as council chairperson from 1991 to January 2002. She is a certified council trainer and has done SBDM training since 1997. Previously, she trained for KASA and since 1998 for KASC. Thelma has also served on the KASC Board of Directors.

CINDY BLEVINS develops and oversees training and works with schools as the Training Leader here at KASC. Before coming to KASC, Cindy spent 26 years at Woodlawn Elementary School in Boyle County as a classroom teacher, interventionist, and literacy coach. She has served multiple times as a teacher member of the school council and chaired various committees.

DR. TIM CROOK is a retired educator from Versailles. Over his 30 years in education, Tim has taught elementary school, been a K-12 instructional supervisor and an elementary principal in three different Kentucky school districts. He has been involved in school councils from the first year of their existence. Tim is currently an Associate Professor of Education at Asbury College.

LIZ ERWIN is a past Education and Training Leader here at the KASC. She is presently an assistant principal for Woodlawn Elementary in Boyle County Schools. Over her 20 years in education, Liz has taught middle school and elementary school. During her teaching experience, she served as a specialist in reading, math, and writing. Liz has served on her school’s SBDM Council and is a certified SBDM trainer.

RONDA HARMON is the Executive Director of the Kentucky Association of School Councils. Ms. Harmon consults with schools around the state on improvement plans and student achievement. She served for four years as a teacher member of the school council at Woodlawn Elementary in Boyle County, including two years as chairperson.

TIM HITZFIELD is principal at Conner High School in Boone County and was previously the principal at Owen County High School. He has also been an assistant principal, a science teacher at the middle school level, chemistry and physics teacher at the high school level and was the chair of the science department. Tim has served on SBDM Councils for more than 18 years, and has been a SBDM Council trainer for seven years. Other related educational experiences include being an Outdoor Education Teacher and Curriculum Consultant. He is a former President of the Board of Directors for KASC, and the President of Northern Kentucky Association of Secondary School Principals. Tim was named an Impact Teacher in the Governor’s Scholars Program and received the Golden Apple Achiever Award from Ashland Oil and the Kentucky Post.

CHRISTY HOGAN is retired from the Fayette County Public Schools where she worked as a middle school science teacher, guidance counselor and served on her school’s council. Christy currently works statewide as an educational consultant doing workshops, trainings and presentations for teachers, parents, and administrators. Ms. Hogan’s main affiliation is with KASC.  She also reviews SBDM policies and bylaws giving schools legal feedback and suggestions. Ms. Hogan has received the local and state PTA “Counselor of the Year” awards and in 2005 she received the KASC Vision Award.

DEBBIE HOWARD is a retired educator from Kenton County Schools. She taught various elementary grades throughout her 20 years of teaching, then served as an elementary principal her last 10 years in Kenton County. She served on school councils as a teacher representative and principal during her tenure. Debbie currently works at Northern Kentucky University as a regional KTIP trainer and as a university educator for teacher candidates.

LYNNE KEEN  is a retired with  31 years of experience in education; 19 of those years spent as a secondary science teacher. She has trained for us here at KASC for many years and is now a full time Education Leader. Before retiring, she served as an Instructional Supervisor for the secondary schools in the Marion County School District for 10 years and served as an Instructor and Field Placement Coordinator for the College of Education at St. Catherine College. She has provided professional development trainings to numerous school staffs in all regions of the state and presented at several state and national conferences.

PAM PATTERSON is a retired educator for Casey County. She was an elementary classroom teacher, math interventionist, school and district Reading First Coach, and district Curriculum Coach. Pam served on various committees implementing new initiatives and providing professional development throughout the district. She also has experience in grant writing and review. Pam has served on the school council as a teacher representative.

LYNNE SLONE is an attorney and served as a parent member of the Dixie Magnet Elementary School Council in Fayette County. Ms. Slone previously served as an Assistant Attorney General with specific responsibility for education issues. Lynne has been training school councils since 1996 and serves as general counsel for KASC.

DENEEN ZIMMERMAN is the Director of Academic Services for Bellevue Independent Schools. She is a former SBDM coordinator, principal and teacher. Ms. Zimmerman has served on school councils in the capacity of teacher representative and principal. She was a contributor to the KDE publication, Synergy. She formerly served on the KASC Board as a Principal representative and a member at-large. She has been a trainer for over 15 years.


Our members trust us for reliable answers to school council questions. E-mail us at [email protected] We'll respond as quickly as possible — no more than 24 hours through the work week!


School councils are always looking for parents and community members to join committees or serve in various ways. Call your school to find out how you can help.


Find out about how Kentucky schools, councils, and KASC work by exploring our site. The Resources page above may be a good place to start.


Over 800 schools across Kentucky receive services and discounts as KASC members. Use the Membership tab above to join us!


Visit us at 217 S. Fourth St. Send mail to P.O. Box 784, Danville, KY 40423. Phone: (859) 238-2188 Fax: (859) 238-0806 E-mail: [email protected]

Hit Counter provided by Skylight