Congratulations to KASC member schools for recognition as a
National Blue Ribbon School

Huntertown Elementary in Woodford County is one of five public schools in Kentucky recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School. The Title 1 school serves a population where almost 50 percent of students qualify for free and reduced-price meals, a number that has almost doubled in the past eight years.

The U.S. Department of Education awards the Blue Ribbon honor based on student achievement and other research-based indicators of quality. The other schools recognized this year include Oak Hill Elementary (Pulaski County), Paintsville Elementary (Paintsville Independent), Spottsville Elementary (Henderson County), and Wyan-Pine Grove Elementary (Laurel County).

Yanhong Shang, a first-year teacher at Huntertown, asks 3rd-grader Levi Watson to demonstrate a word she spoke in Chinese. Huntertown’s two Chinese teachers work collaboratively with specialist area teachers to weave the Chinese language into lessons. Photo by Megan Gross, March 14, 2019

Read the full article here...