Four Kentucky teachers win Presidential Award for math, science teaching

(FRANKFORT, KY) – Four Kentucky mathematics and science teachers are among 213 recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), which is awarded to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. Winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators following an initial selection process at the state level.

The PAEMST winners from Kentucky are:

Grades K-6

Kristi Fehr, science, Cassidy Elementary School (Fayette County)
Melanie Ramey, mathematics, Highland Elementary School (Johnson County)

Grades 7-12

Deborah Brock, science, Simon Kenton High School (Kenton County)
Erin Schneider, mathematics, Atherton High School (Jefferson County)

Winners receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and are invited to Washington for a series of professional development opportunities.

Awardees also join an active network of outstanding educators from throughout the nation. Since 1983, more than 5,000 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Share this post: