Board Member NomineeS • Region 1 PRINCIPAL

Allene Houston Jones
Paducah Middle School

Ms. Houston Jones has been an administrator in the Paducah Public School system for 7 years at the middle school level. Prior to service with PPS, she was an elementary administrator for 10 years. She has to lead our SBDM Council with rigorous standards, ensuring best practice and maximum student benefit in everything we do. As a leader in our school, she is approachable and supportive of both student and faculty needs at the individual level. Ms. Houston Jones was one of 20 women nationwide chosen to take part in the American Association of School Administrators' (AASA) inaugural Aspiring Women Leaders Program, she is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in the Curriculum and Instruction program at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, Illinois and is also pursuing her School Superintendent Endorsement at Murray State University.

Wendy Mitchell
Earlington Elementary

I am Wendy Mitchell from Earlington Elementary in Hopkins County, and I am honored to be nominated to serve on the KASC Board of Directors. 2020-2021 begins my twentieth year in education. I taught fourth and fifth grade, served as a school counselor and curriculum coordinator, and am beginning my fifth year as principal at Earlington Elementary. I was recently honored to be named Hopkins County School Administrator of the Year. Our school has recently grown from a TSI rating to a four-star school, and we have worked hard to maintain the great culture and climate as a recent Tell Kentucky School Climate award winner. Our district is a forerunner in the state in supporting the whole child, including School Resource Officers, health nurses, and mental health counselors housed in every building.  I am excited about the possibility of continuing to learn and grow through KASC, and I hope to share some of the great resources, strategies, and skills that I have been blessed to learn through my school and district.