Three Kentucky educators chosen as state finalists for Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

(FRANKFORT, KY) – Three Kentucky educators have been selected as state finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Established in 1983, the award is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM) and/or computer science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States.

Each year, a panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists and educators at the state and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees to the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The applications are evaluated using the review criteria and scoring information provided by the National Science Foundation (NSF). Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving STEM education.

The finalists include:

State Finalists in Mathematics

  • Priscilla Keller, Ballard County Elementary School
  • Nova Pleman, Booker T. Washington Elementary (Fayette County)

State Finalists in Science

  • Hillary McWhorter, Glendover Elementary (Fayette County)

Teachers who are selected as awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also receive a $10,000 award from NSF, a presidential certificate and join an elite cohort of award-winning teachers throughout the nation.

Share this post: